It lasted almost two years

Franziska and I broke up last night.  Long story short, irreconcilable differences.  Maybe we got together too quickly after her last relationship, maybe in the end we were too different and we wanted different things.  She started feeling herself falling out of love or feeling less romantically attached to me a couple of months back and hoped that it would just get better but … it didn’t.

It’s tough because she had also become my best friend these last two years.  We’d seen so much of the world together but that wasn’t enough.

I’m not mad at her, I’m disappointed that she couldn’t come and discuss it with me before it was too late.  Will we still be able to be friends?  Yeah, probably, but it’s gonna take some time.  It certainly won’t be like it was but I still want to know how her life goes, it’ s just too bad that I won’t be a part of it.

What does this mean for me?  Well, it means a little soul-searching at a difficult time for me, at the last weeks of a semester, just before I begin an internship and a possible new career direction.  I’m in the middle of editing my novel and it seemed like everything in life was falling into place.  That’s usually when Life hits ya, ya know?

I had planned to spend the rest of my life with Franziska and I was happy about it.  I mean, our relationship was not perfect by any means but we certainly could have worked on the very things that led to our demise but it wasn’t meant to be.  I do wish her well, especially with her master’s thesis just starting and I hope everything goes well for her.

All right, well, thank GOD today is a state holiday today so I don’t have to work and have the day to sort of mope around my place, my organize some stuff and get ready to look/act like a normal person tomorrow, wish me luck.

One Response to It lasted almost two years

  1. Mike says:

    Sorry to hear this, Jason. Sounds like 2010 is a year of change for you, if not transformation, even if it hurts. Keep us posted on how you’re doing.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

