The Rumble in the Jungle

There’s a culture/sports management university in town where I was a constant presence for about 3 years 2003-6, teaching American and British history. I haven’t worked there much the past the two years because of lack of enrollment but I had a coffee with my Danish boss today at McDonalds (with my free coffee cards that I’d found at a bar a few weeks ago).  She offerred me some work for the next two Wednesdays at a better than normal rate.  What do I have to teach?

Sports in the United States during the 1970s and their historical context.  I’m going to talk about the 1972 Olympics where Mark Spitz won 7 medals (relevant because of Michael Phelps today) and the Israeli athletes who’d been kidnapped and killed by Palestinians (relevant for the Middle East situation today).  I’m also going to talk about The Rumble in the Jungle, one of Don King’s first promoted boxing matches, taking place in Kinshasa, Congo in 1974, a big win for Muhammad Ali over George Foreman (relevant for Ali being stripped of the title for refusing the draft and also for the Foreman Grill making Foreman richer and more famous after his boxing career) and…well, I’m not sure yet what else but doesn’t that sound like an interesting way to make money?  You’re looking at 175 euros for 6 hours of work over two weeks.  There are 8-10 students who are in their early 20s.  My boss said they are daft and uninterested but I can swallow that for two weeks for a little extra money that I can put right into our Israel trip in less than 3 months.  Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

