Going home home

After my discussion of what home means to me now, I thought I would tell you that I am going home home now, where I live most of the year, my work is and in the country where I pay most of my taxes.  that reminds me, I have to do my taxes again, something I despise if not only because there is a sense of nervousness of officially turning something into a government official that has to do with money. I often have thought that the smoothness with which a tax return is handled could be altered by the kisses or nagging of a wife at home before the tax man goes off to work.  Now to be honest, I am not that worried about it, but as a self-employed dude, it is always a little more interesting doing taxes because my definition of what is a write off may differ from the tax man.  But, in all honesty, I am super lucky because a friend of mine is a former tax lawyer and now a judge in the local tax court and advises me informally about how to fill out the complicated looking german tax forms.  Imagine how long some of those words are!

Either way, I dont make enough for it to really matter.  So, with that in mind, I shall take one train for nearly an hour and have 10 minutes to change trains with my heavy ass bags and then we will be sitting for about 6 hours in the same train from Hamburg to Freiburg.  From there I will use a bit of Xmas money and take a taxi to my place, needing two trips to carry the two big bags and then I will flop down in the hammock and relax.  Ahh, and to think, that is only 9 hours away, it is a short travel day!

2 Responses to Going home home

  1. horsty says:

    naaah, home home is where you grew up, home is where you live. Once children are being produced, home home is where you live, and where you grew up is “visiting your parents”

  2. Mike says:

    Welcome back home, man. If you’re up in Amsterdam in the next 6 weeks, or interested in coming up, let me know–I’m here till the end of Feb! Mike

Leave a Reply

