First effects of the staggering economy

A company I teach at told me that they can’t afford me until maybe next October.  It’s unfortunate but it’s not the end of the world.  The company is making cuts and of course I am one of the first things to be cut but when you think about it in another way, I only cost the company 560 euros/month which isn’t much.  But let’s think about this for a second.

I currently “only” have now 4-5 jobs: the university here in town, a business university 90 minutes away, a one-hour class with lawyers and also another class through the university but paid by another company and two classes at the Student Services building.  Until today at 3pm, I had two other jobs but they are companies and it’s not sure that they will hire me again.

This looks like it should worry me but it doesn’t right now.  There is always more work out there.  Some company work could dry up because of the economy but it’s gonna be okay.  True, if I happened to have children and a mortgage payment I would feel a bit worried about it but that’s not the case.

This does have a silver lining.  I have the first chapter of my new novel finished and it’s something I want to work on more next year.  Having Tuesday and Wednesdays afternoon free to myself could have me spending a couple of hours working on it.  I want to have it finished by the summer of 2009 and try and send it to some publishers by the end of the year.  I also plan on having another photo exhibition in the spring and perhaps even putting together a photography book by the end of next year.  As long as I’m not too lazy (or travelling too much, hahahaha), I could get those things done.  They could become a new direction for me.  The novel has potential and I look forward to getting my voice onto paper.

All right, I’m going to go back being lazy but I just wanted to let you know that I’m chilling in the hammock while Rome burns… 🙂

2 Responses to First effects of the staggering economy

  1. Money is just money. You can always make more 🙂 and really 4-5 jobs is impressive. I consider leaving my job a good thing. I hated it anyways…

  2. J says:

    We’re having the same problem. We’ve had two companies cancel for the first half of the year. I’m not worried, though as we still have enough work and don’t anticipate having to lay anybody off.

Leave a Reply

