Stopping slowly

Damn, two classes I’d hope to have this semester are not going to happen. That does open up my schedule but it means money that I won’t have in the spring. I guess I should pick some pretty cheap holidays to do in the spring then, eh?

What am I thinking about, anyway? Well, I’ve had a lot on my mind lately, about me growing up (slowly), deciding that maybe I want to save (slowly) so I can buy an apartment in Freiburg and also what holidays will I go on next year.

New Year’s -Hamburg/Denmark
February – Morocco
April (Easter) – Sardinia?/Israel?
May (Pfingsten) – NW Spain?/England (to visit Franziska’s brother)?/Lichtenstein?
Summer – California/Hawaii

It would feel weird for me to stay home for a week that is technically “holiday” here for students. It’s generally accepted that I am “allowed” to leave for that week, whether it be Easter or Pentacost or whatever but the point is, someday in the future my life won’t be like that. That’s another reason why I’ve been trying for the past years to squeeze as much travel in as possible and I feel it is my duty somehow to achieve an amazing feat, that being 100+ days of vacation for 5 years in a row. This is the fourth year. Can I somehow do it one last time before deciding to act like an adult? I think I can but the money from those lost classes will not help. It means that I will have to live more cheaply (which shouldnt’ be hard because I used to go out and eat and drink all the time) and lately I have been eating at home more. I will also look for some new work in January but I guess for now my best bet is to think about where I want to go, decide I’ll be able to afford it somehow and continue to write my novel and enjoy the hell out of my hammock. Any questions?

4 Responses to Stopping slowly

  1. J says:

    You and I still count vacation days differently. I don’t count weekends and public holidays but you do.

    On an unrelated note, how’s it going with your work/residency permit stuff? You haven’t blogged about that in a while.

  2. Howard Brodsly says:

    You are amazing….I take off a couple of days and am nervous that I won’t get it all done…..enjoy (as I say this out of jealousy).

  3. Mike Why says:

    How much does an apartment in Freiburg cost, anyway? In Hamburg, I remember seeing some near the harbor–new ones–for, err, maybe 300k? Not a bad deal, especially compared to the overpriced real estate that is San Francisco.

  4. jasonconga says:

    *I got my permanent work permit in June.

    *I understand about weekends and public holidays, but if I’m away from home and on the move then I count that..

    *An apt. will cost about 250, 000euros or so but I’m not ready to do it yet!

Leave a Reply

