The Simpsons movie and old friends

After the Simpsons movie last night we went to have a beer across the street and there saw some old friends and I mean old friends. Two are from high school which means I have known them for 15+ years and a girl who was 2 grades lower than us and I had not seen her in probably 10 years. The two guys I both saw at Xmas. One of them I still kind of like and the other I’m not too sure about. We have just become different people now and with not as much in common. It’s weird, especially when essentially they are still doing the same stuff as they were doing 10 years ago. Don’t get me wrong, I am still doing some of the same things too but I’m doing them much further from home which somehow lends more credibility, I think.

Part of me is exactly the same person I was 10 years ago when I was 23. I like to go out and have a good time but I think I’ve experienced the world a little and have taken a lot from those experiences and have become better at dealing with people, or at least realize better that you have to treat some people differently. I’m sure my friends know that too but it just felt like it was a shock for me to hang and have a beer with a guy who I hadn’t seen in 10 years and he immediately begins to bust my balls. I can handle ball busting but come on, I’ve been living in Germany 4.5 years and my girlfriend just broke up with me. I felt like I had more important things to talk about but that could have just been my headspace.

The Simpsons movie was better than I thought it was going to be. It wasn’t perfect and it had some slow moments but it was pretty damn classic, some great humor and for sure you have to see it again to get all the jokes. That’s a good sign.

Today we’re going to the Dodger baseball. I haven’t been in a couple of years and maybe the last time I went was july 2002 just after coming back from Greece and I went with my buddy Zach to the game and talked about my future relationship. This was when I was 6 months from moving to Germany.

I told him when he asked, what if it doesn’t work out, “Well, then I come back to one of the most beautiful places on earth.” Well, it apparently hasn’t worked out and I am back in that beautiful place but I am so glad that I don’t live here right now. I have so much freedom in my life in Germany, freedom of work and travel and I’m free to do whatever I want all the time. I wouldn’t have that chance here and I’d have to drive everywhere which I wouldn’t like at all anymore. I love catching a buzz and riding my bike home, that’s how it should be.

It’s going to be a beautiful day…

Leave a Reply

