Lazy?

It’s funny, we watched Office Space in a Business English class today. I think the students really enjoyed it and it was probably the 15th time I’ve watched that movie but it never really gets old. It made me think about what the main character Peter says he would do if he didn’t have to work.

“I would do nothing. I would sit on my ass all day. I would do nothing.”

And while it’s exaggerated, I find myself enjoying the same goddamn thing quite often. For example, last weekend Assiyeah was gone, the weather wasn’t great and I spent a good portion of the weekend doing nothing. And it was great. I read a lot on political blogs, watched a couple of movies, sat around and just sort of enjoyed having nothing to do. See, part of it is because of work. I spend all day standing in front of various people (or sitting at tables with them) of various ages and language abilities in various locations for various amounts of money and it is exhausting. It takes a lot of effort to get some people to talk, or to entertain others, to help them through this “left brain” activity of letting go and just speaking. And don’t get me wrong. I really do like my job (well, about 4-5 of the 9) and I am proud of what I do and I love my life that is afforded me by the job I do but at the end of the day I am exhausted. I don’t want to talk anymore, I don’t want to entertain people. I just want to be a bump on a log and chill. Is there anything wrong with that?

I could be working on my writing. Hell, I haven’t done anything with “Selling to the Norwegians” in over a year. I’d like to get that short story collection together. Remember, the stories are already written, I just need to decide which ones to use and clean them up a bit. I have 4 other novels that I could work on and send to publishers or, at the very leasy, print them up and develop a website to allow me to sell them there.

That’s it. I want to start a new website but I’m not ready yet. I want to have photos and stories on there that can be purchased by people so that I could be at work and come home and learn that some of my stories were purchased at like 3bucks/story and photos for various prices. I have stuff I’d like to do in this “free time” but I really just wanna do nothing. Am I lazy?

One Response to Lazy?

  1. Michael says:

    “at the end of the day I am exhausted. I don’t want to talk anymore, I don’t want to entertain people. I just want to be a bump on a log and chill. Is there anything wrong with that?”

    Nothing wrong there. I get the same way. Comes from having to be “on” all day. After a week of teaching I often end up not wanting to talk to anyone, or explaining anything to anyone. It’s terribly draining to be around people you can’t have a proper, normally-paced conversation with; both of you want to express much more, but can’t because of the language gap (and that’s assuming you actually get on with each other!)

Leave a Reply

