Different Americans

Last night I went to O’Kellys have a beer by myself. Friday night, 8.45pm, reading my Ben Franklin biography and then a student of mine from the university comes around the bar, drunk and popping off. I’m gently verbally accosted him and his buddy right back at ’em. They weren’t ready for my witty riposte and so they told me to join their table. “Their table” ended up being two tables, one with them two and two chicks and the other table with 3 guys and the “Professor”. He was at Harvard or something. The students were all from CC – Colorado College – and they were studying in a place not far from Hamburg. I talked to them about the politicization of the justice system and how how we should appreciate the difference in how drunk we were. I had another beer. One of the girls went to pee and didn’t come back for awhile so the other girl went to look on her. The dude who liked that second chick went to check on her 10 minutes later. The group left about 15 minutes after that and then I went and had something to eat and then went by a friend’s house on the way home. I slept okay. It’s gray and cold today, the grocery store accidentally charged me for 23 limes when I only bought 3. On a good day, I might have just taken 20 more limes but this time I took the cash.

I think I am so lucky to live in this era. I wanted to ask the professor from Harvard if he had seen Britney Spears’ vagina ( http://bp3.blogger.com/_VxK48DWO300/RXli44X18aI/AAAAAAAAAA8/15PQMtxjPuo/s320/20061128-britneyvadge13.jpg if you are out of touch) but the girl sitting at the table with him said it probably wasn’t a good idea. But here’s my point, it is a conversation topic, no matter how short. We live in an age of pop culture, fullblown internet exposure in all timezones simultaneously and if we can discuss the untoward behaviour of government officials, we can discuss the decine in Ms. Spears’ standing on this revolving stage, but as she fades away until sometime 2+ years from now, it culminated in seeing her vagina. It was the modern day version of someone “doing playboy”. She got playboyed. And it’s up for anyone’s consumption at any time. This is the thing that has taken media to another level that actually has made it something you can dip into, instead of being inundated by “Their” carefully controlled exposure. I’m able to take what I want of it instead of having to take what they give me. I can decide. I’m the decider. I think I finally understand why Time magazine said that “YOU” were Time’s Man of the Year. George Bush, the leader of the “free” world, said he was the decider. Now I am.

Leave a Reply

