45 minutes

I had the longest cell phone conversation of my 3+ year life here in Germany today, with arguably the most imporatant person I have talked to, the boss of the boss of the boss of the boss of my case worker at the Foreign Authority Office. He was nice enough to concede that I were to invest 100,000euro and employ a few people, that might be enough to discuss the point. He says it’s just not possible. I was disheartened to say the least. I am disheartened. I have fighting 9 months on a “stupid technicality” and I have been unable to find one German person in a position of authority to say, “Ya know what, I will give you the extension, if anyone has a problem with it, they can talk to me.” They can see the merits of my case, I basically fulfill every one of their wishes except for one that apparently is the most important, the investing of a million dollars.

I am moving to Karlsruhe in January, only on paper of course and hope that when my folder arrives, the Freiburg authorities have not written anything discriminatory in it. It shouldn’t be a problem, but the loophole is closing. I just can’t fucking believe that my life here has to change. I have been so happy here, I loved that things were staying more or less the same.

The thing is, I have prided myself on making change in my life before life makes change on me and this time life got me. I have fought it as best I could, but damn it all, somehow I found someone who can better me, the German Beauracrats. I have been tossed around, given hope, denied ever having a chance, given hope, waited, hoped, denied, waited, hoped, hoped, crestfallen, determined, and now today, exhausted. I have not slept well in days, ever since I was given the rejection letter on Saturday. I left the house at 7.25am and arrived at 9.25pm, without coming home once. How in the hell can they kick me out when I’m working my butt off to make a living here, I don’t get it…

Anyway, I’ll get over it, I’m sure Assiyeah and I, if we do get married, it will just be something at the justice of the peace so we can get the paperwork, symbolically flip off every single person involved and move on with my life. I don’t think that I will count the day we go to the justice of the peace as my anniverssary day. That says a lot.

One Response to 45 minutes

  1. Jeremy says:

    I’ve been reading your blog since Expatica first published your story. I just want to say I am really sorry for everything you’re going through. I’ve been living in Berlin since April 2004, working as a freelance translator and webmaster and not once have I had a problem with getting my residence permit renewed. I really hope you get things worked out eventually and that they realize that someone somewhere really dropped the ball on this. This is no way to treat foreigners who are not taking jobs away from native Germans – and even make an effort to – gasp – speak the language.

Leave a Reply

