Bundesministerium des Innern

From 9.30am to 10.30am today I taught lawyers. Well basically, we just discussed my case, my work permit problem. It’s funny, I earned about 32 dollars for that hour of work speaking with 3 lawyers, who combined probably make about 500 dollars/hour. We tried to figure out what to do about my case. What should I do? One of them went and checked on the internet if there has been an update on the Self-Employed foreigner law. There has and there hasn’t. They are discussing changing it, giving local authorities more power to make a decision on a case by case basis. The vote for this committee is scheduled for January, 2007. My current work permit expires on January 10, 2007. We know when the committee is planning on voting because we called the “Secretary for Domestic Affairs”‘s secretary this morning, asking her about it. She mumbled a lot but the idea is that they are discussing changing the law and that has to be enough for now. I have a lot of other ideas for recourse and all of them probably would fall flat in the face of getting married to the woman of my dreams. I really do want to marry Assiyeah someday, but not because of them, ya know?

I was called by the magazine Accents http://www.accents-magazine.de today because they want to do a follow up article on my situation. I compiled happily. I got an email from a guy in Cologne who got his work permit. He is allowed to work as much as he wants wherever he wants. Why am I not allowed to? That’s the question.

Okay, I need to chill while I have a couple of hours break before heading out into the world again…

Leave a Reply

